The town of Casamassima is located in the Murge Baresi, 20 km from the capital of Puglia, Bari, and is known as Paese Azzurro, Blue Village, because of the colourful houses that characterise the historic centre. Flower-scented alleys, small stone houses, cobbled streets and blue-painted walls. Here we introduce you to one of the most beautiful and unusual villages in Puglia.

Casamassima could be called the Chefchauen (blue city in Morocco) of Italy: a fascinating town with painted walls: The two cities, as well as Jodhpur in India and Safed in Israel, are linked by the blue colour that characterises the façades of the houses in the three cities. While it was previously believed that the colour of the houses was a vow to Our Lady of Constantinople, who saved the city from the plague in the 17th century, there is a new explanation that links the Apulian village to the blue cities of the world.

According to the study conducted by architect Pagliara, the reasons for the blue colour are to be found in Jewish tradition: All these cities have in the past welcomed Jews on the run.

The colour blue in Chefchaouen has to do with the Spanish Jews who moved to Morocco after their expulsion from Spain, just as the colour Jodhpur in India and Safed in Israel have to do with the Jews who settled in this country and coloured their walls blue to feel close to paradise.

According to this hypothesis, Casamassima might have housed a Jewish community in the past. This hypothesis could be confirmed by one person: Miguel Vaaz de Andrade, a Sephardic Jew who bought the fief of Casamassima in 1609 for 76,000 ducats.

Visit the blue village of Casamassima in Apulia, you will be delighted.

Text: Anna © Italien.blog

Photo above and below: Casamassima, Bari, Puglia, Italy.    foto obern © izabela_h / Shutterstock.com   foto unten © forben / Shutterstock.com

The Blue Village, Casamassima, Puglia, Italy

foto © Shutterstock.com

Casamassima

Die Stadt Casamassima liegt in den Murge Baresi, 20 km von der Landeshauptstadt von Apulien, Bari entfernt und ist wegen der farbenfrohen Häuser, die das historische Zentrum prägen, als Paese Azzurro, Blaues Dorf bekannt. Nach Blumen duftende Gassen, kleine Steinhäuser, gepflasterte Straßen und blau gestrichene Wände. Hier stellen wird Ihnen eines der schönsten und ungewöhnlichsten Dörfer Apuliens, vor.

Man könnte Casamassima als das Chefchauen (blaue Stadt in Marokko) Italiens bezeichnen: eine faszinierende Stadt mit bemalten Wänden: Die beiden Städte, sowie auch Jodhpur in Indien und Safed in Israel, sind durch die blaue Farbe verbunden, die die Häuerfassaden der drei Städte prägen. Während man bisher glaubte, die Farbe der Häuser sei ein Gelübde an die Muttergottes von Konstantinopel, die die Stadt im 17. Jahrhundert vor der Pest bewahrt hatte, gibt es eine neue Erklärung, die das apulische Dorf mit den blauen Städten der Welt verbindet.

Laut der vom Architekten Pagliara durchgeführten Studie sind die Gründe für die blaue Farbe in der jüdischen Tradition zu suchen: Alle diese Städte haben in der Vergangenheit Juden auf der Flucht aufgenommen.

Die Farbe Blau in Chefchaouen hat mit den spanischen Juden zu tun, die nach ihrer Vertreibung aus Spanien nach Marokko zogen, so wie die Farbe Jodhpur in Indien und Safed in Israel mit den Juden zu tun hat, die sich in diesem Land niederließen und ihre Wände blau färbten, um sich dem Paradies nahe zu fühlen.

Nach dieser Hypothese könnte Casamassima in der Vergangenheit eine jüdische Gemeinde beherbergt haben. Diese Hypothese könnte durch eine Person bestätigt werden: Miguel Vaaz de Andrade, ein sephardischer Jude, der 1609 das Lehen Casamassima für 76.000 Dukaten kaufte.

Besuchen sie das blaue Dorf Casamassima in Apulien, sie werden entzückt sein.

Text: Anna © Italien.blog

Foto oben und unten: Casamassima, Bari, Apulien, Italien.    foto obern © izabela_h / Shutterstock.com   foto unten © forben / Shutterstock.com

Das blaue Dorf, Casamassima, Apulien, Italien

foto © Shutterstock.com

Casamassima